Happy Christmas everyone!

merry-christmas-header

 

Hello everyone, I hope you are keeping well? This may be my last blog of the year, so I would like to start by wishing everyone a very merry Christmas and a peaceful prosperous and happy new year!

So what has happened to me since my last post? Well, thankfully my daughter has been cleared of cancer, and it turned out to be a quite serious infection for which she was issued two antibiotics. I am glad to say she is now much better.

As for other things, well I have just made my mincemeatt*!  Normally I love it, as it is no added sugar (or booze). But this year with brain un-engaged I made it on a day we were going out. As I got home several hours later, I said to my daughter “Have you been cooking, there is a lovely smell in here”. “No” she replied, “that is your mincemeat*!” As I headed for the kitchen to ‘jar’ the mincemeat*, I noted it looked very dry.  So this morning, I made a batch of mince pies, and sure enough they were dry and did taste ever so slightly burnt. So I am ashamed to say, this years mince pies may just have to be bought! (* Click to see recipe)

It’s amazing when you think of the internet isn’t it? I have not got the foggiest idea how it works, why it works etc. But I am thankful for it. During the past few months I have done much shopping online, and more importantly made some great friends, and I would like to thank Kelli and Pam for caring over the past months! Life gets tough at times, and to have support is great God-send!

So with all the presents bought, it soon become time to wrap them up. Mrs Dave and I spent a whole morning wrapping up presents, and in the end I was so pleased it was ‘nearly over’. I say nearly because as usual there were gifts we had forgotten to buy. Which is baffling really, as I had written a list (didn’t check it twice though)!

So I would like to wish one and all a very happy Christmas!

Dave signature

3 thoughts on “Happy Christmas everyone!

  1. Awwwww…..shucks Dave! 🙂 You are so complimentary. Pam and I really DO care about you and your family. I’m so glad your daughter is in the clear. I’m going to look at your mincemeat pie recipe because it was my Nana and Dad’s favorite, and the rest of us hated it. However, I never remember tasting it, it just looked awful to me. But I’m older now and I think I will give it a go! I hope to see you soon next year blogging away! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!

  2. Exactly as Kelli said, we DO care about you and your family! I’m so, so glad to hear that everything is Ok with your daughter. It’s so scary to think you may have cancer! I mean, an infection isn’t good, but at least that can be treated fairly easily!!

    I really hope you guys have a fantastic Christmas! Don’t worry, I always forget presents, too. I was out today purchasing a few things. I thought I was done two weeks ago!

Leave a Reply

