Good old British Scones recipe

Food is wonderful isn’t it, not to mention plentiful too. I have lost count of the times I thank God for the food in my cupboard, despite sometimes moaning about lack of it. Yet I have in 52 years on this earth never starved, yes I’ve been hungry when times were hard and beans on toast have been classed as a main meal – yet I have never been starving. And now I have instilled in myself how wicked the wasted food is, particularly with this ‘best before’ date on our food products.
I remember my own mother cutting mould off cheese blocks (before pre packed cheese), and using the remainder. She had things in her cupboards for years, and if it still smelt and looked OK it’d be used! And yet these days we’re told to throw things away that are ‘out of date’. I have, I admit, been brain washed somewhat. Just the other day we had two yoghurt’s left that were on their ‘use by’ date. I decided the risk was worth it and we ate them. We had no after effects. There is so much food thrown away in this country that some companies have jumped on the band wagon, and started buying them from the factories at a fraction of the retail price, and then they sell it on to the public for reduced prices. Approved foods is just one company that is getting bigger. I approve of this although I haven’t bought from them, due to their rather steep postage costs, which increase as you add to the basket.
Nothing perhaps symbolises the UK like a British scone with strawberry jam and clotted cream! So I have enclosed a recipe for scones from the splenda website (using sweetener), and if you use reduced sugar. no added sugar jam then the treat becomes low sugar. Enjoy!

Scones recipe

Ingredients:

  • 250g/8oz – Self-raising flour
  • 50g/1¾oz – Low fat spread
  • 5g – SPLENDA® Granulated
  • 75g/3oz – Sultanas
  • 120ml/4fl.oz – Semi-skimmed milk

Method

  1. Sift the flour into a mixing bowl and rub in the low-fat spread until the mixture resembles bread crumbs.
  2. Stir in the SPLENDA® Granulated and sultanas then add the milk and mix to a soft dough.
  3. Turn onto a floured surface, knead lightly and roll out to a thickness of 2cm/ ¾ inch.
  4. Cut into 5cm/2 inch rounds with a fluted cutter, place on a floured baking sheet and brush with milk to glaze.
  5. Bake in a pre-heated hot oven at 220C/425F for 12 minutes then remove and transfer to a wire rack to cool.

(courtesy of splenda website)

2 thoughts on “Good old British Scones recipe

Leave a Reply

