Are you free Mr Humphries?

Pinch punch first day of the month and all that silliness… Happy June to you though, I hope it’s a good month for you.

On a TV show  recently they discussed about being busy. Most agreed that while life in general is a bit more hectic these days, to constantly blame being busy on not doing things is a no-no. What you should do- they said- was admit to be lazy and not wanting to bother! So if someone emails or texts you, and you can’t be bothered to reply, you should when you see the person next say exactly that: And not, “Sorry I was busy”.

And while we’re talking about such things, do you find a lot of people have less respect these days than in days past. Take a person living locally to me, they let their children play out until 10pm on their own shouting and screaming outside all of our houses. That might be acceptable in some small way, but remember these kids are still at primary school! And then take the little ones over the back, they keep kicking their ball in the garden and then keep knocking to see if we can get it for them. And take old people: This one time at Boot camp… Sorry got a bit carried away there. This one time though an elderly (but able) couple promptly plonked their selves in front of me in the queue that I was heading and had been waiting for several minutes. Anger begun to rise in my inner body, and I suggested they joined the queue at the back, to which they replied “We’re only talking, we know there is a queue”. I replied “In that case then you should join it” They remained firm. So having no option (and knowing the bus driver had just left the office I stood from my wheelchair and plonked myself in front of the couple. And on the bus first I got. This isn’t the first time I have had a go at queue jumpers, another occasion involved youths waiting for the Cambridge bus. And while travelling on the bus (another occasion) some youths thought it would be cool to inflict their music (personal stereo) upon the whole bus. I stood it for a little while and then suggested the try turning the music down, as not everyone wanted to hear it. They turned it down for a bit, and then nearing our off time they turned it up even louder. Which reminds me of our ex-neighbour! They used to play their music up way high, and it interfered with our TV watching and sleeping. I lost count of the time times I went around and asked them to turn it down, and eventually I went to Environmental health who wrote a letter – that worked! But of course there are plenty of other examples in our lives aren’t there – I bet you could share several with me too. Or is it that I’m just getting old and grumpy?

In the meantime why not have a bash at this simple recipe for Choc and Orange Cheats cheesecake: for a tasty treat…

Ingredients

  • 3 chocolate oaty biscuits, roughly crushed
  • 100g/3 ½oz extra-light cream cheese
  • 150g carton low-fat natural yogurt
  • 1 large orange, segmented
  • 2 teaspoons icing sugar or intense sweetener
  • some grated chocolate or chocolate curls to decorate

Method

  1. Divide the crushed biscuits between 2 tall glasses.
  2. Mix together the cream cheese and the yogurt, and stir through the orange and icing sugar.
  3. Spoon over the biscuits then top with the chocolate. (If you don’t fancy orange, this is great with any fruit, either fresh or tinned in natural juice.)

Leave a Reply

