Apples

Being diabetic doesn’t necessary mean you have to give up tasty things does it. There are some great recipes out there for diabetics, not to mentioned reduced sugar goods, low sugar and no added sugar versions of many of your favourite things. I love jelly so always opt for the no added sugar version, and similarly with the custard (if I make trifle). I also like a piece of cake occasionally and my daughter sometimes makes me a ‘no added sugar’ apple pie which I adore cold straight from the fridge (Once cooked of course), if like me you like apple things then why not try this recipe for  an apple and cinnamon cake below.

I’ve lost count of the times that I have been told ‘Don’t buy Diabetic foods’, and yet if I see something I like (for example Diabetic sweets). But when I have bought it and ate it, I then feel guilty because I have been ‘disobedient’. But one thing I don’t do is lie about my diabetes, if I ate a large chocolate bar and some medic asked I would say yes I have eaten it. Why? Simply because I think that you are only lying to yourself. And at the end of the day it is only you that can help yourself, by being honest. There would be no point in saying I eat lettuce leaves everyday, when actually your eating chocolate biscuits every day – it simply wouldn’t add up! Yes it might be tempting for a quiet life, but in my opinion honesty is the best policy when it comes to your health care.

Apple and Cinnamon Cake recipe

Ingredients

  • 100g plain flour
  • 1 heaped tbsp Splenda granulated sweetener
  • 1 level tsp ground cinnamon
  • 6g baking powder
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 level tbsp skimmed milk
  • 75g lower fat spread, melted
  • 1kg apples
  • 1 knob of unsaturated margarine eg olive-oil or sunflower spread, for greasing

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C (Gas Mark 6).
  2. Sift the flour into a bowl.
  3. Add the Splenda granulated sweetener, baking powder and cinnamon into the flour and mix.
  4. Make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients and add the eggs and the milk.
  5. Whisk and add in the melted butter.
  6. Peel and core the apples and remove the seeds.
  7. Cut them into large slices.
  8. Add the apple slices to the mixture and fold in gently.
  9. Grease a cake tin (around 23cm tin) with the knob of margarine.
  10. Pour the mixture into the tin.
  11. Bake in the oven for 35 minutes.
  12. Turn out onto to cooling rack.
  13. Leave to cool and serve

Leave a Reply

